Replacing my s-10 pickup

N

nimzrock

Greetings all,
After 21 years and 280K miles my little S-10 has a hole in a piston. It has been a great truck other than 5 computers and one used tranny. I would appreciate any info you have on small and mid sized truck reliability. I want decent milage so I will go 4 cylinder again or move up to a 6. I am currently leaning towards dakotas or a tacoma.
Thanx for any and all suggestions - Nimz

Raincatcher

Raincatcher

Less than 50 feet from the Santiam River! :)
I'm no truck expert,but I know I love Toyota products. I had a Toyota truck that finally died after close to 375,000 miles on it. I have a Sienna van right now,but if I got the chance to go back to a truck,it would be the Tacoma. Good luck and don't forget to let us know what you decide on.

M

Mike123

Uhm, what year is your S-dime...? I'm looking for an 80's S-10. I want a beater that has a blown engine cause I'm goin to drop a small block in it and fix it up. ;)

I would go Toyota. Those 22R's are invincible on the older ones. If you aren't towing a huge boat a 4cyl would do just fine. Anything non-domestic should give you few problems. lol. I'm not a huge fan of domestic vehicles. I like my fathers' Ranger, but it has problems quite often. F.O.R.D.... fix or repair daily.

Last edited:
C

capblack

if its milage your after, get a yota with a 4 banger, if you need power then get a 1/2 ton chev with a 350. decent milage and plenty of power. the v6 and 8 in the foreigns dont get good milage.

M

Mike123

if its milage your after, get a yota with a 4 banger, if you need power then get a 1/2 ton chev with a 350. decent milage and plenty of power. the v6 and 8 in the foreigns dont get good milage.

True statement! Even better, if you want to haul a boat, get a diesel. They make Dakota's with V8's that will do the job too if you don't want to go full size.

B

BlackBass