Question about line weight and reel specs...

H
HeliosPrime
Hey guys. I have a beginner's question about a freshwater spinning reel I just picked up. I'm pretty new to fishing, I apologize for the trivia in advance... :)

I'm just starting out doing some fishing during my hikes so my gear is all pretty much ultra light.

I have an "Ultra Light" spinning reel that says the line capacity is 6/150, which I'm assuming means 150 feet of 6lb test.

From what I gather, braided line has a higher breaking strength than standard line at the same thickness, right? Is there some kind of conversion factor that would tell me what the equivalent line weight would be for braided line?

Thanks in advance.

K
Kevinb5688
For a spinning reel u will be fine with whatever you choose. I would just use 6-8 lb maxima mono. Cheap and very good for trout. With braid you need a leader and why mess with it when your using spinning gear.
If you get a bait caster braid is a lot easier to cast. Good luck.

Reactions: DonF
H
HeliosPrime
Kevinb5688 said:
For a spinning reel u will be fine with whatever you choose. I would just use 6-8 lb maxima mono. Cheap and very good for trout. With braid you need a leader and why mess with it when your using spinning gear.
If you get a bait caster braid is a lot easier to cast. Good luck.

Oh, I see. So people don't usually use braided line on spinning reels? I thought braided line was just way to get more durable line that's not as prone to wearing through. I guess I need to read up on that more.

K
Kevinb5688
It depends on what u are doing.
If u cast for bass in thick structure then braid is good. If you trout fish open water there is no need for it. If your using ultra lite gear i figure your not going for big fish in tight cover. I would use 8-10 lb flouro. Or 6-8 lb mono with your light setup. You can try braid if you want but honestly i see no reason to with a light spinning setup. I love seguar flourocarbin, it is clear as heck and cast great.

F