Oregon coast spear fishing

ryang85
ryang85
Seawolf said:
I’m also new at this and also very old for this sort of sport (66 years old that is) and I’m not able to hold my breath nearly as long as I used to (barely a minute) And I see that The younger guys feel that to use scuba tanks is cheating while spearfishing! But what alternative has a poor old retired senior citizen Got! I could use some advice on this even though this may not be a response to this particula comment?
Most free divers are ok with people using scuba responsibly. The main thing that is annoying is when someone on scuba goes and wipes the entire reef of the slower growing vermillion, china and even black rockfish that we work our butts off to get. For me personally the reason I'd rather spearfish instead of rod and reel for rockfish is the ability to get way better quality instead of quantity. If you diving jetties or easy access spots its all open game within limits i would say because the big fish are very few and far between.

S
Seawolf
I appreciate your response and will keep that in mind when choosing spear fishing locations. I have in my possession 18 for Zodiac that will get me out to some better spots such as the area of the pinnacle. There should be enough room for everybody out there Eh? I would never want to rub anybody’s fur the wrong way but I’m retiring and want to enjoy life to the fullest and if that is the only way I can do it so be it! I will be a green in responsible Diver! Thanks for your advice!

ryang85
ryang85
There are so few divers in Oregon you would be a perfectly fine scuba diving basically anywhere with a zodiac.

S
Seawolf