Open seat for summers.

I just bought a drift boat and am new to the area. I haven't ever really run a drift boat but have a lot of experience of in a pontoon, so I have the basics of oaring down good. I would appreciate it if anyone has a little experience on the river would like to go down it with me and give me some pointers and hopefully catch some fish. Boat is solid so if you feel comfortable send me a pm.

I have a 17x54 koffler. I haven't ran much on the rivers but the owner of koffler took me on the willamette yesterday and said I did real good. lol. for what thats worth. I live in springfield though. You don't even have to ride in my boat if you are nervous, lol. I would appreciate even another boat to run with.

JeannaJigs

What stretch of the willamette did ya do? I'd be down to do a float sometime after i get back from wickiup next weekend. I'm no expert but I haven't killed myself the last 3 years on the local rivers.

What stretch of the willamette did ya do? I'd be down to do a float sometime after i get back from wickiup next weekend. I'm no expert but I haven't killed myself the last 3 years on the local rivers.
sounds good. I am gonna go out tomorrow on the mckenzie with my neighbor for a little more practice.

JeannaJigs

sounds good. I am gonna go out tomorrow on the mckenzie with my neighbor for a little more practice.
Everything below the leaburg dam is pretty straightforward. There's a couple places that want to suck you into walls of rocks but just pull away like hell and you'll be ok.

Just remember to always keep your bow straight through rapids and when you need to maneuver away from say, a rock wall of death and boat destruction, point your bow towards it and pull back from it.

It all relatively straight forward, it just comes down to knowing how to properly read moving water and familiarizing yourself with the way your boat handles.

Wholr different game from rowing in still water though.

eugene1