Nubie help

S

silver fishin

I am new to the pacific northwest, and am chomping at the bit to salmon or steelhead fish. I have been bass and trout fishin for decades in stillwater. But I want to try tasty tasty salmon. I have read books and articles for a year now trying to figure it out on my own. Though I have discovered the salmon/steelhead fishing have their own language. I have not learned much about technique, were a novice can get started (and make mistakes), and good suggestions were to go bank fishing, no boat. So here I am asking for help to find a book, or other source to learn form, where to go, what the language of this sport is. Any suggestions would be appriciated.

Thanks

G

GDBrown

Welcome!

Welcome!

:cool:Welcome to the OFF gang. With a little humor and some reading of forum threads you can learn a lot. Check out the Sticky treads. There are also several good sites to learn how and where to go. I started at(Steelhead University - Fishing Education) It is a Washington base site but had some good info.

Raincatcher

Raincatcher

Less than 50 feet from the Santiam River! :)
Welcome to the family...

Welcome to the family...

silver fishin;
Welcome to one of,if not THE friendliest,most informative fishing forum in the country! If you like fellow fisher folk who share all types of tips and info to help enrich your fishing experience,you found the right spot. This is the pot 'o gold at the end of the fisher folk rainbow. Be sure to check the relevant forums for so much info on your chosen species,your head just might spin. The archives are bursting with the answers to your questions. You might even meet up with a few members for a day of Sharing & Caring. Nothing like meeting a future fishing buddy. Good fishing!

F

FishSchooler

You just got here at the right time. It will be the peak of the Coho run in a couple of weeks!
Cedar Creek in Sandy is a pretty darn good bet for Coho.