Newbie hunter/camper/fisher needs some help!

D
Drame22
Hello all,

I have just recently starting fishing as a hobby, and as soon as I figure out the whole license thing, I'll be hunting too. My only taste of hunting has been my with my uncle far, far out into the woodlands somewhere.

I'm also a newbie at camping, and I'm sort of rolling both those problems into one. I've been trying to find a secluded spot on a lake or river, that is accessible by car, or has a place to park for the week while I hump the gear by foot. However, most places I've visited or called have people up the wazoo, and nothing is less fun than a crowded campsite.

Really, what I'm looking for is somewhere in Oregon(or southern Washington, western Idaho... so long as it's reasonably close to Portland, I'm willing to make the trip) that is far, far away from the typical family campsites. I've been to KOA and similar sites my whole life, and showers and electricity sort of ruin the experience.

I have a stock Ford Ranger, so I can manage trails and the like. Olallie Lake has been my favorite so far, it was only accessible via firefighting dirt trails(my dad's suburban barely made it), and had only a few dozen people when I went in the summer, but it was a typical cabins/yurts/electricity area. Something like that, but no showers or electricity would be perfect, but there doesn't seem to be much information on the web. So I figured I'd ask the hunters and fishers, who are the most likely to be finding these places.

So basically, seclusion is key, aside from being an actual fishing spot, of course. Me and my friends get real loud real quick at night, and besides that, I believe camping should be as remote as possible. It's no fun if your revelry is interrupted at 10:30 sharp by angry neighbor campers!