New to the area and a rookie! Could use some help!!

OREGON FISHING FORUM

mthorp25

Hello everyone !! I moved to Oregon in September and am interested in getting into fishing around here. I am a beginner, havent fished in about 15 years, and when i did it was salt water in Florida.

I have a few hundred bucks to spend (400ish) and would like some help in deciding what kind rod, reel, tackle and equipment needed to start out. I would prefer to have two set ups, one for my girlfriend and I.

Also, I live in Hillsboro and have no idea where to even begin fishing. Any helpful hints for a rookie would be greatly appreciated !!

Thank you !!

Raincatcher

Welcome to the forum and Oregon! The first thing you need to figure out is what species you will be targeting. Then, are you going to be wading in the streams? If so, you will want breathable waders and good boots. You really don't need to spend a fortune on rods, reels and gear, even if you want to get into fly fishing. I suggest starting at Bimart or WalMart. Once you decide you're "hooked" you can get into the more expensive gear if you want. I'm sure you will get tons of differing suggestions from other folks, but you will have a great time once you get set up.
As for where, I always suggest checking out www.boatescape.com for lakes and rivers in the state. You will find species, maps, directions and weather info.
The best advice I can give you is relax, enjoy the wonderful outdoors and remember, you aren't going to go home with a fish every time. Oh, and the most important thing you need is a copy of the fishing regulations. You can get the booklet at any place you get your license and gear or git them online.
Have fun!

C_Run

I noticed that BiMart has Lamiglass Cascade Pro rods in their current coupon book and they come in all sizes. There is a good opportunity to get a few $$ off some decent rods.

OnTheDrop