Mountain whitefish

F
Fishpdx
I am new to whitefish fishing because whenever I caught one I always thought it was a pike minnow, but one guy told me it was a mountain whitefish and its really good smoked or pickled. So I wanted to fish for them but have no idea where to catch them and how? Because their mouth is really small but I heard they catch them on jigs. I am gonna try using a small hook with a worm because I heard there were bottom feeders, I am looking for a place to fish around clackamas like willamette river, clackamas river .

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
I caught lots of them in trout streams as a kid over in the Blue Mts (NE Oregon) and they are really tasty, we would get them in the larger deep holes in the streams and I recall they fight deep down and don't jump like 'bows do. Not sure where you would find them over on the west side of the state...cheers, roger

P
pdxstruve
In the same boat Carp. I have been trying to nail some locally around Portland and have had no luck. You can nail them year-round on the Deschutes and Crooked Rivers. I snagged a few this summer on the Crooked just downstream from Smith Rock on a small purple #2 Blue Fox. Let me know if you find a local spot to grab some. My smoker is hungry :)

F
Fishpdx
I've heard there's some in the clackamas river at high rocks where the people jump off the rocks ! They say thats the place you can catch them. I'm going to do some fishing today at clackamette cove and might try out high rocks! I will pm you if Had any luck!

Raincatcher
Raincatcher
They can be found at the Big Cliff Reservoir on Highway 22 a few miles west of Detroit Lake. I've seen some real chubby's come out of there.

S
sapo
Deschutes has a lot of them, I've hooked some while fly fishing for trout

B
Baydog