Looking for some info- Willamette River near Beltline + Divison

W
whammond
So like I have said in other posts, I am new to fishing the area. Lately I have noticed people occasionally fishing the Willamette under the Beltline Bridge near Division Ave. And I am just curious, what are people fishing for at that spot this time of year? Are there some winter steelies in there? That place is only a few miles from my house and it would be sweet if I could hit that up after work! Haha. Any info would be awesome!

troutdude
troutdude
Springers are just now beginning to trickle in. That may be what those peeps, are angling for. Or, they may be chasing trout and the infamous March brown Mayfly hatches. Those trout, however, are Catch & Release ONLY...and that stretch is restricted to artificial flies and lures.

Last edited:
R
RunWithSasquatch
troutdude said:
Springers are just now beginning to trickle in. That may be what those peeps, are angling for.

Yeah, probably not so.

troutdude
troutdude
Good point Squatch. Maybe a few; but Springer action doesn't heat up until April.

brandon4455
brandon4455
ive heard there are already people targeting summer steelhead but as td said there are people after trout, you will mainly find fly fisherman trying their hand and catch and release for big redsides and cutthroat

W
whammond
I'd be happy to try and fish for some catch and release trout there. Any time on the water is fun for me. And it would be good practice with my baitcaster. What kind of lures should I use there? God I love this forum!

T
TTFishon
Not sure if the runs have changed much since I was a kid in the 80's but March was the time of year Springers started showing up in that section of the river and as Brandon said in the above post, summers are being caught up by Springfield already.

R
rippin fish lips