Looking for some advice about steelhead

D
dKest
[h=2]So i recently just moved out here from the east coast where i was born and raised. Fished fresh water my whole life but always wanted to get out here for some of the best tasting fish in the U.S. Ive been doing a lot of research on the winter run for Steelhead and this is pretty much what i got so far. For the steel to run the water level needs to be a lot higher then what it is. Fishing with a pink jig and bobber tend to work. The Steelhead tastes quiet amazing and are smarter then the average fish when it comes to noticing line and what not. Basically what I'm asking is what are some of the better tackle and bait to use along with where are some of the more highly populated areas to catch these fish? Im new at the whole steelhead and salmon fishing so any help would be GREAT!!![/h]

B
Berg03
Your heading in the right direction. Bobber and a jig is an effective way of fishing, also drifting yarnies or corkies, as well as spinner fishing. Type each of these ways in google and you will find numerous ways of fishing them.
As far as where to go... almost any coastal river will have a winter steelhead run, as far as certain spots... you really just need to get out there and explore each river to find one that fits you, check the regulation book for any deadlines these rivers will have. As far as it being to low of water each river takes a different amount of rain to make it fishable. Idealy you want a light green water color, "steelhead green". And most rivers in Oregon only allow you to keep hatchery steelhead, so check the regs for that too. Steelhead fishing can be very frustrating, have patience and it will be worth it. One of a kind catch!
Good luck!

Casting Call
Casting Call