Looking for bass in all the wrong places?

K
Kage
New to bass fishing and trying to find them around Sandy and the Columbia or in waters where they'd be safe to eat. Went to Chinook Landing and looked for structures to fish around and got nothing. The next day I went to Rooster Rock and fished along the boat launch area leading out to the Columbia. Got some dinky ones to bite so that was fun but no keepers. Fished the Columbia from there with no luck. Fun and gotten more bites than salmon or steelies, just trying to find some decent spots to give a shot. And am I correct in thinking that the Columbia can be fished anywhere as long as I'm not trespassing? Thanks in advance to those who respond

Aervax
Aervax
I am still learning where to catch bass when walking the bank of the Columbia. I will share what I am learning.

I am finding that the bigger bass are super specific about where they hang out and feed. There are times where I will walk half a mile or more without making a cast because the combination of right conditions just are not there for fish over, let's say a half pound.

This time of year what I am looking for is current seams in 15-20 feet of water. Smallmouth really orient to areas with current. These are places where the bass can relax in slow water, but are adjacent to stronger current that funnels food into their vicinity without having to range far to find it. The name of the game for them is to consume as much nutrition as they can at the least amount of effort they can get away with. The ones that do it well are the ones that get big.

Deep water seams can be found behind big rocks or outcroppings, at a sharp corner or bend around structure, next to ledges or behind underwater dropoffs. You get the picture.