Little Luckiamute fishing

P
pnwbrandon
In the past two weeks, I've gone on four fly fishing trips on the Little Luckiamute (first trips ever). They have essentially been for the practice and aesthetics!

I've been practicing with nymphs; no luck, though we've heard of a couple of people getting bites with pheasant tails on opening day. We've each had one bite each with dry flies (one jumped for my dad's march brown last week, and today I had my first bite... it was on a kaufmann olive stimulator. I wasn't quick enough to set the hook).

It's definitely gorgeous up there! The water level has lowered quite a bit recently.

Lastly, I'm not experienced enough to offer advice, but it seems the trout are mostly hiding in the shady undercuts. After about four hours of casting in other parts of the river, an undercut is where I had the bite today... and almost immediately.

troutdude
troutdude
The upper stretches are great for the scenery. I used to fish it when it was stocked. But, I'd love to go even farther upstream someday. Sounds like it was fun, in spite of the lack of bites.

S
Sage_Flyguy
I am not sure where you live Brandon , but this summer if you'd like to get some action on that fly rod of yours , I'd be happy to take you or tell you where to go up quartzville. I am relatively new to fly fishing as well , and the last 3 summers or so I have gone up quartzville and knocked them dead. nothing of any size to write home about , but an all day of C&R fun.

Little Luckiamute fishing

S
Sage_Flyguy
sorry , that last picture was terrible , here is a couple others from that same day....

L
lilsalmon
That first pic is very familiar......

S
SmallStreams