Lemolo Lake during hunting season Fall 2022

MT_dirtbag
MT_dirtbag
Howdy All,

Been a long time lurker and figured it would be more engaging and fun to actually participate in some fishing discussions.
Originally from Montana so I'm a trout enthusiast by trade. Preference to fly-fishing, but always packin' a fresh water oozie(spinner) as well.

Plannin' a weekend trip to Lemolo. I know hunting season opens up but was wondering what to expect during the fall? Will mostly be in the streams, but wasn't sure on regs if spawn was going on. Would love to land a big ole' brown, but won't have a boat - well, maybe a canoe. Assuming hunters will be in the primitive spots, so maybe secure a campground spot? We'll have a pooch with us so any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Was looking at some creeks dumping into the N. Umpqua, but also the lake creek(SE zone) area.

Thanks for any tips/info.

Also, is there poison oak prevalent in those creek areas? Figured it be too high up for that, but not sure. Only been to Lemolo one other time and we were catchin' a buzz and not many fish :)

Cheers,
M

troutdude
troutdude
Glad to see you sign up. Welcome aboard.

Lemolo has a fantastic population of Browns. The main secret is to fish EARLY in day; or LATE in the day. They are largely nocturnal feeders. And you'll want to find some Tasmanian Devil lures to cast and retrieve.

Good luck and let us know how you do.

Reactions: MT_dirtbag
MT_dirtbag
MT_dirtbag
Glad to be part of the discussion. Have heard about these Tasmanian lures. Can you get them at the resort?

Thanks troutdude!
Report to follow

Reactions: troutdude
troutdude
troutdude
It would not surprise me if they carry them at the resort. I first learned about those lures, from the resort owner's web site several years ago. I bought some 2 years ago, and a lake resort not far from there. So it's very likely that Lemolo's resort will also have some. They can be jigged too.

Vintageflyguy
Vintageflyguy