Kayak bass fishing near Monmouth

G
Georgia Boy
Well, I'm brand new to the OFF. I live in Monmouth and just picked up a well rigged Hobie PA 14 from a dude up in Washington this past weekend. Yak, trailer, trolling motor set up, down rigger (yes first I've seen on a yak) locator with side imaging (probably take me til the end of the year to figure out how to operate it). I'm from Georgia originally and then spent several years in Wisconsin. I love fishing, mostly Large mouth and Small mouth, but especially small mouth. I'm looking for a pond/lake to try this thing out this weekend but I moved to Monmouth about 7 months ago and I have no clue. I don't really want to hit the rivers yet as I've never fished from a yak. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm jonesing to wet a hook. Thanks

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
welcome to OFF, I can't help you much on the bass fishing, I stick with saltwater fish and crab now, but with a downrigger you are set-up to take advantage of the kokanee fishing, Green Peter and Odell. Wind can whip those lakes up into white caps real quick, so get used to your yak a bit before hitting the big lakes. If you haven't found the NWKA forum yet, you might want to give it a look. Hobie forum is excellent resource also, I have the same user name on all three forums. what year is your PA14? cheers, roger

G
Georgia Boy