Is it Possible?

T

TTFishon

Someone at work said I can take the prop off of my motor and attach a garden hose so I can safely run my motor. Is this true?

Raincatcher

Raincatcher

Less than 50 feet from the Santiam River! :)
Ummmm...

Ummmm...

Okay,let it be said I am NOT any kind of expert on boat motors. But,I was sent to Sportsmen's Warehouse to get a black clamp thingy to put on the motor down by the prop. It is double sided and after you clamp it on,you can hook the hose to it and safely run your motor. I would think that just taking the prop OFF would not keep the motor from frying itself. But,like I said,I am no expert. Might want to call a marina or boat dealership.
Be safe.
Barb

Chromatose

Chromatose

Here is what you need
muffs.png

As you will notice there is a hose bib on the side ear of the muff. That is where the hose goes. Then take the muffs and place it on the lower end of your outboard. There will be little journals where the muff ( Water side of the muff to the journal) goes to. The U shape is for the muffs to wrap around your lower end. Turn on water, start your motor. You should see water coming out of the water outlet of your lower end. Hope this is of some help!

Or you could just get a 55 gallon barrel.

Good Luck.

No reel need to remove the prop unless your going to replace it.

Last edited:
Troutski

Troutski

Careful...

Careful...

Watch the water pressure when using earmuffs...you can put to much pressure on the water pump. Don't as how I know just be careful:rolleyes:. My new Merc came with a built in hose port, very easy to use. Good luck

Chuck

F

fishnquest

How big is the motor?
I have a 6hp merc. The earmuffs do not work on it. I clamp it to a sawhorse (one I made with a vertical 2X4 across the top), put a plastic garbage can under it and fill it with water.

T

TTFishon

How big is the motor?