Introduction - new member and boat builder

jenniferwillow
jenniferwillow
Hi folks,
I just joined the forum and I’d like to introduce myself. My name is Jennifer Milburn and I work as a scientist at Caltech (astronomer). I’ve spent much of the last 2 years building a drift boat for fly fishing. The boat is currently in Gresham and I’ll be coming to visit at the end of May 2022 to do some fishing. I commissioned the boat in late October 2021 on the Yuba (CA) and the Deschutes (OR). Unfortunately my planned trip on the Wilson and Trask was canceled by the atmospheric river that came in during the early part of November last year.
I could really use some advice about where and how to fish the lakes and rivers around here? If you were coming to the Portland area to fish in late May where would you fish?
I’m really proud of the boat I built. It’s based on a design by Jason Cajune in Livingston, Montana called the Kingfisher Recurve. I’m going to spend 1 week fishing lakes to help get my rowing chops back and then do a week on the rivers (Clackamas, Sandy Deschutes) fishing for salmon (not on the Deschutes.
I’m retiring in 3 years to Gresham to start a small boat company called Cerberus Boats and my next boat will be a 30 foot Great Alaskan. Here’s a picture of my drift boat the “Cerberus” (named after my 3 shop dogs)
DE45871A-82AB-4FAB-AB47-FED3563270DD.jpeg

Here’s a picture of the boat on the Yuba River.
D53AFC7C-7FB3-4DCC-A5E6-8C481D68AB40.jpeg

• Love
Reactions: GungasUncle, Old Cole, Markk and 4 others
Admin
Admin
More like a luxury yacht than a fishing boat. )
Welcome aboard!

Irishrover
Irishrover