Ideas for salmon trolling spinners

Aervax
Aervax
Not having had a lot of success salmon fishing on my own I'm looking for feedback from some of you serious salmon guys. I've been building some big flashy spinners for trolling for salmon on the Columbia, this fall. The big ones have size 6.5 spinner blades. The little ones are size 3. This is a work in progress for me. I hope to build a few more variations over the next week. What blade types, size and colors work for you on the Columbia for Chinook and Coho? Any feedback on my first attempts in the pic would be appreciated. Thanks. Eric
20200820_114249~2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: Admin and rogerdodger
305to503fishermen
305to503fishermen
I am no expert on Salmons at all.

With that being said, if you are able to I would do these on a leader. Especially for the Coho, this should help avoid them popping off from the leverage they can create with that steel body.

Outside of that they look good to me.

Reactions: Aervax
PhoFish
PhoFish
where do you all get your spinner kits? I am wanting to build some Jed Davis spinners - but it seems the things in that book are outdated of course. Thanks for the help!

Reactions: Aervax
Aervax
Aervax
305to503fishermen said:
I am no expert on Salmons at all.

With that being said, if you are able to I would do these on a leader. Especially for the Coho, this should help avoid them popping off from the leverage they can create with that steel body.

Outside of that they look good to me.
Thank you for that suggestion. Building them on leader would be lots simpler than bending and wrapping those wire loops, too. I'll build some of my other colors that way.

Aervax
Aervax
PhoFish said:
where do you all get your spinner kits? I am wanting to build some Jed Davis spinners - but it seems the things in that book are outdated of course. Thanks for the help!