Help with identification

Goldylocks
Goldylocks
Could anyone confirm if this is a brook or bull? Caught it around Mecca in the Deschutes river. The black spots are throwing me off.

86497E52-F893-41D6-A433-6C633F5070A8.jpeg

brandon4455
brandon4455
100% native bull trout. For some reason most if not all lower deschutes bulls I’ve ever seen have that black spotting.

Reactions: troutdude, Goldylocks and DOKF
Goldylocks
Goldylocks
Awesome! I wasn't sure so I promptly returned it to the stream.

Reactions: Irishrover and rogerdodger
O. mykiss
O. mykiss
100% bull. Brooks will have worm shaped marks on their back and red spots with blue halos around them. Nice fish!

Reactions: Goldylocks
R
Rockitout
I am no expert, but I believe that the black spots are due to diet. Overall that water is historically warmer, which limits the normal food sources. The fish then turn to snails. Snails pick up and shed a lot of parasites. The parasites are causing the black spots.

Reactions: olshiftybiscuits
Diehard
Diehard
Looks like a cutthroat brook trout hybrid the black spots look like cutthroat but then its colored like a brooky nice fish I would be interested to know what you got there in wonder if you email a photo to state biologist they could help identify it good luck

DOKF
DOKF
Can cutthroats hybridize with brookies?

O. mykiss
O. mykiss
Diehard said:
Looks like a cutthroat brook trout hybrid the black spots look like cutthroat but then its colored like a brooky nice fish I would be interested to know what you got there in wonder if you email a photo to state biologist they could help identify it good luck
To my knowledge there are no cutthroat in the Deschutes. Also, the black spots on the bull trout are caused by a parasitic worm. The condition is known as black spot disease

Reactions: Diehard
DOKF
DOKF
From a fisheries biologist: