Fly fishing

IKfish

How can i get started? Do i need a flyfishing guide or to start by myself?
What rod & reel & line is good for a beginner to learn?

markasd

What are you going to target?
Lots of variable for the fly rig set up - small fish vs big fish, two handers or single hander.
Where you located?
If you want meet up, I'd give you a few pointers - guides are good to get you into fish, if you want fly lessons though - lookup the local fly shop.. Usually have a few guys that'll give lessons.

sugarcity

How can i get started? Do i need a flyfishing guide or to start by myself?
What rod & reel & line is good for a beginner to learn?
I have been fly fishing for over fifty years.
Guides will put you light years ahead. You will learn techniques in days that would take years to pick up on your own. Hire a couple, then start putting your kit together. It will make much more sense then.

Sent from my LGMP260 using Tapatalk

Southpaw

I'm a 100% self taught with ton of frustrations in the beginning and there is no substitute for commitment and time on the water and making practice and casting part of your routine. Many may suggest lawn casting, but I'll say it will still shorten the life on your line and promote more cleaning to keep it working great. Get on the water and practice! I usually practice at least 3 times a week year round and in areas I don't plan to actually fish. It's good to practice in different flow rates, depth of water, and calm vs windy days to understand how to adjust your casting so when you are fishing you can adapt to the conditions and make it count. I never brought any spinning gear to stay focused and not give up, I've never fished with conventional gear anymore no matter what species I'm after year round. I'm in Eugene, if you want to see options of types of rods and different actions, single hand vs two hand I have it all to help you understand. I have a true passion for two hand rods whenever I can, but there's no substitute for a nice d