Fishing the "Lake on the Willamette" i.e. Cedar Island Park

P
PTownAngler
So first of all, I have to say that I am a rookie fisherman. I started fishing about two weeks ago, I've gone about 9 times in those two weeks tho lol. I've fished this perfect little spot out in front of my buddies house on the willamette. It's pretty much a lake, its a big horseshoe, look it up on google maps just search "Cedar Island Park, West Linn, OR" in google maps and you'll see the horseshoe I'm talking about. It is the exact place i've been looking for. There is fishing piers that are perfect to fish from. The river drops off to about 12-15 feet about a foot and a half from the shoreline. I only was able to fish for about an hour my first time going there and only had one kind of bait, and it wasn't my preferred color. But I stopped at Fisherman's Marine on the way home that day and got some Pink Powerbait Nuggets, Red sparkle Powerbait Nuggets, Red Salmon Eggs, Orange Salmon Eggs, Turbo Powerbait in Rainbow, Turbo Powerbait in American, Some treble hooks (which I think I got them too big, I got size 8. I've heard to use size 18.) and they kid working at the store told me to get the Eagle Claw Single Hook Salmon Egg Size 6, so I got those as well. So I'm heading back today for a few hours hoping to catch my first trout. I'll definitely get back on here when I get back and give you guys a report. Wish me luck!

Happy Fishing! -Mitch

N
ninja2010
good luck out there...

P
perfectg03