Do I need a license?

S
Spydeyrch
So, I have a question to pose to you all.

If I have a stream/river running through my personal/private property, do I need a license to fish and retain my catch? I would think no but am not entirely sure.

What if my property runs up to the stream on one side but the other bank is either someone else's property or public land?

I am planning on visiting my mother in NE Washington (North Port) this coming year. She has about 80 acres of land up there and has several streams and rivers that run through her property completely and others that are only one bank on her land.

I kind of don't want to have to buy a non-resident license if i don't have too.

What do you think?

I guess I could always contact WDFW, right. :lol:

-Spydey

J
JAFO
Buy the liscense dude. Trust me.

P
PNW Sam
I would imagine that you would need a license, but I'm no expert on Washington's fish and wildlife rules. My thinking is that the stream doesn't end at the property line, and it goes somewhere, and the fish likely don't stay within the property their whole lives, so they don't belong to any one person.

But before I come to some conclusion on my own, I'd say just call WDFW.

S
Spydeyrch
JAFO said:
Buy the liscense dude. Trust me.

Sounds like you have had a personal experience in this area? Care to share? hehehehe :D

-Spydey

H
Herefishyfishy
This license is for residents ages 18 and older. All persons 14 years or older must have in possession a valid Oregon angling license to take any fish for personal use.

exceptions:
during one "Free Fishing Weekend" in June when no licenses or tags are required;
when taking smelt, shellfish, crayfish or bullfrogs;
Oregon resident landowners and members of their immediate family may angle on land they own and reside on;when angling in the Pacific Ocean within 3 miles of shore between Cape Falcon, OR and Leadbetter Point, WA, either a Washington resident license or an Oregon license is valid.