Crap uh I mean crab bait...

H

halibuthitman

It seems Ive heard a lot of comments on here on how something is only good for crab bait or how sad it is for something to become crab bait, strange... I use the best possible bait I can come up with.. fresh herring, razers, sablefish or lingcod and especially chum salmon. If its freezer burned or opened and dried out it would never go in one of my crab pots.... anyone else like this? or am I the only moron running a four star restraunt for these picky little spiders?

S

SNDSLGR

I am just getting started this year. But so far its been nothing but nice shad, salmon carcs and left over herring. Running low on the good stuff so I will probly be resorting to dumpster diving at the docks or just using chicken this weekend.

I am thinking you may have access to a few items the rest of us dont. I want to try and make a chum with left over herring, sand shrimp etc... Think one of those hand crank meat grinders would work on fish heads?

Last edited:
J

Jmiddlestadt

I've only ever used fresh chicken drumsticks....seems to work great for me in newport!

T

The Nothing

...am I the only moron running a four star restraunt for these picky little spiders?

Suppose so. I work in seafood, so I toss all the nearly-rotting flounder (some of my favorite bait) into the freezer for bait. Plenty of salmon carcasses as well. Because it's bait, it just gets lumped into a plastic bag and into -30F. Plenty of freezer burn. Same goes with sardines.

F

fishnquest

I never thought of them as being picky. Maybe thats why I don't often get lots in the 4 traps I have. I use old bait, fish carcass, freezer burn stuff, junk like that. I've never gone out of my way to make it anything special.

T

Thuggin4Life