CR gillnetters no salmon at local stores ?

Rich232
Rich232
Columbia river gillnetters say there product is needed so non fisherman have access to fresh fish.I have not seen any Chinook or Coho salmon at Costco, Safeway, Albertsons etc and I have checked markets in Vancouver and Portland. I Have been checking for the last 2 months .Only stores that have it are four seasons and whole foods at $30 per pound and not affordable for the average wage earner.Abutcher at Costco said the gillys are getting more money to sell the salmon to Asian markets same ones that gave us Corona So they have been telling lies at the compact meetings.Ya there selling to the public just not here where they have caught it. HAS ANYONE ELSE NOTICED A LACK OF FRESH SALMON IN LOCAL STORES ?

Last edited:
  • Angry
Reactions: Markk
S
Socaaron
I work in the industry. I can tell you for a fact the cost from the boat to the wholesalers and then on to retail is very high. That's why you only see it at those premium markets, they cater to people with money who are willing to spend it for premium fresh product.
The cost from a wholesaler to a retail chain for a Head-on gutted salmon is in the $8-12lb range average(sometimes lower) with a good run and much higher costs when the catch numbers are down. Now factor a 67% yield for filet from that whole fish and you start to see why the retail prices are so high. I'm not saying it's fair or reasonable for our local salmon to be priced out of the market for most everyone who lives here but that's the state of the world. One of the largest consumers of the local salmon is actually our local restuarants.
The fisherman don't export their fish, they sell to processors and those processors decide where they're going to sell that fish.