Clueless aka excited from Ireland

F
freshrun
Hello all,

I posted a few months ago to say that I was coming to the West Coast of America from Ireland, for a few months for school. The semester is now nearly at an end (I am down in California) so I am finally ready for something I have been looking forward to for many years: heading to Oregon for some fly fishing for Steel head. I am excited and looking forward to it, but not sure where to start.

I am a student, on a budget! My plan is to head up to Portland soon. I am looking for whatever advice you guys out there may have. I have brought a couple of double handed (spey) rods from Ireland, and I will be tackling them up with a skagit line so I can fish the right steelhead flies in the right way. I am a functional caster with a normal spey or scandinavian lines so I should fair ok with the skagit set up once I'm used to it. I will be able to get the right skagit set up in a tackle shop in Portaland, so maybe you guys could recommend a place to me?

The dream come true would be to meet up with some cool folk who fish rivers in the area and go fishing with them. Maybe you could show me the methods and how you target these great fish. That would be great and if any guys out there are up for that, I can promise you some friendly Irish company (plus a sneaky flask of Irish whiskey!) and the exact same treatment should you ever decide to visit Ireland. We have a lot of Salmon, Brown and Sea trout back in Ireland and I am well familiar with plenty of the rivers and lakes that hold them. I would only be too happy to return the favour to a friend.

Failing that, any information/help/advice/pointers/warnings etc are very welcome. I am very excited about seeing the beautiful landscape of Oregon and being out in the wilderness, and I hear the night life in Portland isn't bad either! Speaking of which, if anybody wants to go for a few drinks on the town while I'm up there, let me know! :)

All the best,

Freshrun ;)

F