Carp fishing in Albany?

J
Jdangler xD
Hey everyone, thanks.

im new to Albany and am interested in catching carp, spin or fly. Been out a few times. Trying to research a bit. New to the carp game.

Anyways thanks, any advice, locations would be appreciated. Message me about a trip!

Last edited by a moderator:
troutdude
troutdude
As flood waters recede, you'll find lots of them trapped in pools at Bryant Park.

If you have wheels...the Long Tom River, below Fern Ridge Dam has lots of healthy fish too. It's about 40 minutes south, of Corvallis.

J
Jdangler xD
Thanks!

J
Jdangler xD
Still trying for my first carp. Been getting better fish haha

J
Jdangler xD
Bumping the post. Still having trouble getting my first carp. Becoming quite the challenge haha. I have fished waverly, Simpson, swan, timberlinn, the willy. Since I've started I've caught some nice smallies, some Godzilla sized suckers and a buncha crap but no carp ? Even the biggest sturgeon I've ever caught was less elusive than 1 carp. 2015 marked the start of my interest in carp but for a "trash" fish it's eluded me. I use corn and worms and bread.... Not at the same time. Mostly depending on where I go. Albany is a bit discouraging, all I can think is the number of carp is minimal or I'm just not on em. Hardly ever see them. I know it's early still but there is a lot of water here and not slot of fish, what gives with albany? Anyone care to plan a trip and trade some ideas on local water?

F
f15h0n
Try fishing the bridge at Waverly over on the side near Napa Auto Parts. There's some nice carp that hang out under the bridge and where the stream meets the lake. Just caught a nice 20 pounder out of there last week.

J
Jdangler xD
Nice, I caught some suckers there haha. I'll try that spot I thought about it. Any preference between the big 3? Bread/corn/worms?

J
Jdangler xD
f15h0n said: