Boat Registration Questions

sportsmanlio
My friend just bought a boat, and he was wondering what he needs to do. I know he needs a boating license/boater ed card, but what else?

It has a 15 hp outboard, and I am curious if this needs to be registered. I am an insurance agent, so I answered those questions for him, but is anything else necessary before the boat hits the water?

capblack
sportsmanlio said:
My friend just bought a boat, and he was wondering what he needs to do. I know he needs a boating license/boater ed card, but what else?

It has a 15 hp outboard, and I am curious if this needs to be registered. I am an insurance agent, so I answered those questions for him, but is anything else necessary before the boat hits the water?

any boat with a motor gas or electric needs to be registered, if theres no motor, then you need an invasive species permit.

Reactions: sportsmanlio
Diehard
just bought a new old boat i signed the back of the tittle put in a check for my fee witch was $30 for title transfer this will come with a card that you carry with the boat it is like a car registration then they charge by the foot for your tags you will need this was $53 for a 16' boat when you send in the title include in the envelope a written request for a trip permit "hi please send me a temporary permit" because it takes a long time to get tags then theres the safety gear you have to have on board a certified floatation cushion a horn of some type fire exstinguisher and a paddle check for correct types of all of these items and if your out at knight you have to have the proper nav. lights hope this helps a little

TJR_84