Anyone want to fish the Sandy in Gresham next week?

U
upstate88
Anyone want to join me for fishing Monday or Wednesday of this coming week on the Sandy in Oxbow park? I had planned on drift or float fishing and maybe tossing some spinners. I am no pro and have not landed my first steelhead yet. I do know my way around oxbow pretty well so if anyone has never been I can point out the spots I have fished and where the other folks have showed me.

Last edited:
U
upstate88
So far I have clocked 45 hours of time on the river (made deductions for lunch and breaks) and hooked up three times but nothing has stayed on longer than 30 seconds. A guy last week told me to keep at it and it will happen in a really colorful way not appropriate for an open forum. Steelhead is a war of attrition for sure, never before have I put some much time into trying to get something on the end of my line. I am thinking of a full day Monday and Wednesday is what the doctor ordered.

S
smoky
Are you fishing from the bank. Cause I've been looking to float that river with my pontoon.

C
ChezJfrey
upstate88 said:
So far I have clocked 45 hours of time on the river (made deductions for lunch and breaks) and hooked up three times but nothing has stayed on longer than 30 seconds. A guy last week told me to keep at it and it will happen in a really colorful way not appropriate for an open forum. Steelhead is a war of attrition for sure, never before have I put some much time into trying to get something on the end of my line. I am thinking of a full day Monday and Wednesday is what the doctor ordered.

If you've hooked up a few times, you're doing pretty well. I fished for 13 months before landing my first steelhead, and probably about 6 months before my first hookup that was nearly immediately lost after shaking the hook. After you land one, it inexplicably gets 'easier'. Don't know exactly why or how, but somehow your intuition gets better and hookups/landing becomes more frequent.