Any help with some salmon fishing? Read my desc:)

F
FishinMason
Hey guys! So I want to start off and say I'm 16 years old and I'm just getting into fishing. I don't know a lot about fishing. I have recently cought about 30+ trout in the last 6 trips at hagg lake trout is good and all but I think I want to step it up a little and move away from just sitting and throwing my salad shrimp in the water and waiting for a bite xD. So I thought what's better then trout? Salmon is amazing !! So I live in hillsboro oregon and I'm looking some ware decently close maybe an hour 1/2 max? I'm shore fishing my little nissan can't pull a boat lol. So if you know any of the good places to be right now and gear to use I would really love some help. Thanks so much guys!

Also I go to detroit lake a lot we camp there about 2 times a month so any rivers I can get some Salmon would be cool that's near detroit lake. No more then like 1 hour from there. Thanks so much.

E
eugene1
Welcome to the forum.

Not familiar with your area, but maybe think about fishing the Columbia river right now? There are also coho coming up the Willamette any day now.

B
Berg03
Welcome, honestly ur best bet is either go coastal (wilson or trask) or drive over the the clackamas. Find a pull out walk down to the river and start fishing. The more you go the better you will know the river

F
FishinMason
Berg03 said:
Welcome, honestly ur best bet is either go coastal (wilson or trask) or drive over the the clackamas. Find a pull out walk down to the river and start fishing. The more you go the better you will know the river
Ok cool. Trask seems pretty nice. Have you been there? Any spots you know of?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

troutdude
troutdude
Welcome to OFF!

You won't really find any Salmon fishing, near Detroit, this time of year. It's really a Spring Nook show.