What should I buy?

K
Kevinb5688
For those of you who dont know i have been off work for 3 months and i got the call yesterday that new jobs came in and i will be going back to work :). That means i will finally have extra cash.

I needed some help finding a fly rod and reel or a combo for around 200$ or less. I plan to use the rod for mostly steelhead, but will use it for 3-6 lb bass as well.
I used my buddies 7wt one day steelhead fishing and was able to land a 6 lb hen. It was a blast. But i know nothing about flyrods, and have no clue what to get.
I am totally new with only one day and one fish under my belt so any good beginer choice rod that you would recomend i am sure i could figure it out. ( i got roll casting down ) lol.

Thanks guys, i am looking forward to hooking some steel on a flyrod and learning a new tactic to add to my fishing experience!

brandon4455
brandon4455
Last edited:
A
alm21
Having bought a fly reel from Sinkline, I know Randy keeps his gear in top shape. That St Croix looks pretty nice.

K
Kevinb5688
Both of those rods look great, my buddy wants one to so i might have to give you a call in 2 weeks on my first pay check randy. I still need some advice on a decent reel. Any suggestions for a good one for a good price?
Thanks a lot guys, i have caught a ton of fish with spinning/ baitcast rods and it frankly is getting to easy. I want the challage of a new style of fishing.

brandon4455
brandon4455
anything that is tough because its gunna probably hit rocks,large or mid arbor is a good design for gaining line on a big fish. something with a smooth drag that isn't sticky when fighting a hot fish. here is a good reel, the model to match an 8wt would be the third one down on the list. this is a good price and an awesome reel

http://www.caddisflyshop.com/echo-ion-fly-reel.html

forgot to mention, dont count out a pflueger medalist reel if you need something that cost next to nothing,they work great.