Steelhead in Albany

C
COUNTRYBOY83
Hey guys.... My wife and I are up in Albany on a job interview the 27th and 28th. I am planning on fishing the last couple hours of daylight on the 27 and maybe the 28th if it's decent action. Never been there before. Any locations? Advice? Or someone wanting to earn some beer for their time to show me a decent area? I have a lot of fishing experience, but not with steelhead or the area. Wanted to get a guide but probably not worth anyone's time for 2-3 hours. Thanks!

Nate

C_Run
C_Run
The Alsea River would be your closest river from Albany and it will take you an hour to drive over.

jamisonace
jamisonace
I've never fished it but the Santiam might work...or maybe it's too early. Less of a drive than the Alsea.

N
Native Fisher
I know the santiam gets a small winter run of wild fish that must be released, but my understanding is that it is incredibly hard to find fish unless you know exactly where they go. If you can swing the extra hour go to the alsea, otherwise I probably wouldn't bother fishing...

troutdude
troutdude
The South Santiam, is closest to Albany. It is open all year, for "adipose fin-clipped" steelhead. But, I don't think that, there are many fish in the winter run. Winter steelhead fishing, is largely a coastal stream show.

jamisonace
jamisonace
You might be right about the Santiam but I've heard different. I used to work with a guy that lived up there and he told me the winter run is very good. Im not making a case, just sharing what I've heard.

Native Fisher said:
I know the santiam gets a small winter run of wild fish that must be released, but my understanding is that it is incredibly hard to find fish unless you know exactly where they go. If you can swing the extra hour go to the alsea, otherwise I probably wouldn't bother fishing...

troutdude
troutdude
Maybe they do have a good run, of winter fish. A call to Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife, might help to know for sure.

S
Shorty