Need help

F
fish4life14
Ok yall im new to steelhead and i need help. Where is there good places to go? i just got my licence and tags today and want to get to using it and i haven't gone for steelhead but i heard that they are fun .
- Tight lines

Last edited:
S
sapo
Steelhead are fun, but they are also pretty hard to catch. But, if I were you I would try one of the coastal rivers, maybe Wilson, Alsea, some other coastal river, OR try the Sandy or Clack. A lot of rivers have winter steelhead in them right now. As for advice on where on the particular river, stay lower on the river since it is still fairly early.

F
fish4life14
Ok sounds good. How is the sandy and the clack. Also i heard that you can fish the beaches of sauvies island year round how good is that fishing this time of year and or in general.

M
montym
Don't think the Sandy and Clack are too hot right now but I will be at Oxbow tomorrow. Give me a shout if you want to join me. I am a newbie too but I think I have had some very good coaching from Tanner. :)

F
fish4life14
ok sure ill see what my work schedule is like and if i have the day off. im going to go out and boy some spin and glo and hot shots and good colors to get ?

B
bubs
In regards to your original question, steelhead fishing for the average bankie who doesn't immediately have good local info or access on great holes is tough and not necessarily intuitive, even if you have a lot of experience fishing rivers for bass, trout, etc....I have a couple thoughts for you:

1) OFF - there is so much information on here in previous threads it's ridiculous, put in some time searching keywords and you'll find some great posts. Collectively you can get a good idea of different techniques to use, spots to fish, and times of year. As far as what works in certain conditions, that's more something you'll have to figure out on the ground.