My maiden voyage west

F
fitzi6_7
Finally got out to do some exploring this weekend. Started off at Three rivers, Amazingly my Magellan found the Hatchery and I used that as a beacon to get there. Passed several Elk on the road so figured it would be a good day out.

Pulling in to the Cedar Creek turnout, I now know why I have heard it called "Combat Fishing"... lol I got there around 7:20 and there were at least 10 cars. I know I am a noob but why would you need to wade in the creek when its 20 feet wide? Seems like you are wading into the fish... Anyway I watched the fun and did see a guy on the far side pull in two in about 15 minutes...

Left there and went down the road to the pull outs and fished from the guard rail down stream for a few hours.... skunked. Threw everything I had, jigs, spinners, corkies, shrimp....

Around 10:30 I figured I would ride up the Nestucca to see what was up. The river looked high to me but what do I know. I fished a few bridges (not sure which ones) and saw quite a few folks in boats. Looked like they were flying and didn't see anyone on either side catching much.

Around noon I headed back and got a coke at the Hebo store and figured I would try one more spot on Three Rivers just down from the turnout. I didn't go past the rapids my first time. As I walked down I see this old guy hauling a pig in and figure I am going to have some fun. He catches his limit and then he and his buddy leave. Fished till 3:00 and nothing....

So feeling a little defeated I limped back home..... Heard it takes a thousand casts and I think I cut into that a lot....

A
alm21
Tough break but you're not alone. At least you were able to scout out some new-to-you territory for the next trip out.

F
fitzi6_7
alm21 said:
Tough break but you're not alone. At least you were able to scout out some new-to-you territory for the next trip out.

Yep, I liked the Nestucca, but think it would better with the water down a bit...

D
DYJ