Mainline and leader

S
Sage_Flyguy
Hey everyone , sorry if this topic has been discussed to death.

About me , I am very new to steelhead fishing this year is my first real year of doing it. I have been throwing corkie and yarn and managed to land 3 on the S. Santiam. I am abolsutely hooked , I have been going down to the river quite a bit before work and on my days off.

Now on to my questions.
The guys that I have been fishing with and teaching me the ropes are telling me how this is when the fishing is suppose to be red hot , but it appears to me that it has slowed down. Is it possible that with the river much lower than a month ago it has become clearer and the fish are able to see the leader ? I have also heard people saying that the Chinooks have moved in and if so I should try my luck a bit further down river.

On my rod I am using Izorline xxx 10lb mainline and I am using the izorline xxx 8lb for the leader ,this is a super co-polymer mono. I have been trying to research this topic online and I am seeing that for summers a lot of people are using 6lb and 4lb leaders. Now I hope this doesn't make me sound too dumb , but is there really that much difference in the dia of 8lb and 6lb that makes 6lb invisible to the fish ? To sum this up I typically run about 6 - 7ft of leader when drift fishing , should I change my mainline and leader to something lighter or just keep the 10lb mainline and run a lighter and longer leader ? Also for summer steelhead what would you reccomend for # test leader ?

Sorry , my posts tend to get a bit wordy.
Is it possible I am just over thinking the process and with the water dropping and the salmon moving in that the fishing has just slowed down?

Thanks for the help guys
Jer

Raincatcher
Raincatcher