Hike in/ backpacking spots??

R
Roolinghills
I'd like to plan a trip for the coming summer (seems far away, but it's almost 2013 already!) and want to do some hike-in backpacking. I'd also like to get in to some trout fishing, maybe some nice streams holding steelhead if I can find a place near the coast, but probably going for trout.

Does anyone know of good places to check out? I was thinking about the Deschutes or a section of the P.C.T. but I'd like to do a circular hike if possible. Even thinking about hitting some of those Sierra Nevada lakes for the golden trout.... Hoping for 5-6 day hike and at least 3-4 days of fishing and relaxing..

I'm more than welcome to fellow OFF'ers joining. I'm just getting started on fly fishing and tying, so I'm far from an overwhelming expert. Just looking to get off the beaten path, away from the crowds and in to some fish! Got a pack I need to break in anyway..

Any tips are greatly appreciated!

S
Spydeyrch
Roolinghills said:
I'd like to plan a trip for the coming summer (seems far away, but it's almost 2013 already!) and want to do some hike-in backpacking. I'd also like to get in to some trout fishing, maybe some nice streams holding steelhead if I can find a place near the coast, but probably going for trout.

Does anyone know of good places to check out? I was thinking about the Deschutes or a section of the P.C.T. but I'd like to do a circular hike if possible. Even thinking about hitting some of those Sierra Nevada lakes for the golden trout.... Hoping for 5-6 day hike and at least 3-4 days of fishing and relaxing..

I'm more than welcome to fellow OFF'ers joining. I'm just getting started on fly fishing and tying, so I'm far from an overwhelming expert. Just looking to get off the beaten path, away from the crowds and in to some fish! Got a pack I need to break in anyway..

Any tips are greatly appreciated!

Welcome Roolinghills! :clap: