Fish trap

A
Aton
Howdy all,
Happy day before the day before Christmas!

Went up to the Siletz this morning, saw a couple roll, nothing seemed to want Jigs or spoons or spinners so we decided to head down 101 and take a peek at the Siusilaw. So the reason for this thread is to see if anyone can make rhyme or reason. The trap is closed, yet...their steel and beam barricade is still not assembled. So I have to think one or three things. Either they (the hatchery folks?) know that no fish have arrived yet therefore there is no reason to put up barricade yet. Or...a few hatchery fish making it up Whitaker creek to spread their inferior milt all over native eggs won't be much of a problem, or...they don't have enough volunteers to put it together??? Granted the water is rather low and it would be tough to make it up the creek but not impossible??? Anybody out there care to enlighten me? or us?:sad:

E
eugene1
I have no experience with the operation there other than seeing it, but I would guess that it is a timing thing?

The Florence STEP people who maintain it would know more.

Best,

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
I got a STEP email on the 12th that they were installing the trap on Monday 16th. That is the last update I have from Florence STEP group...roger

A
Aton
Interesting,
for some reason I was made to believe that the Letz Creek Hatchery reared the smolts that were released at Whitaker. After sitting here thinking about the day, and how my son and I saw a few salmon carcasses laying in the creek, I realized that, they may wait for wild Chinook, Coho and maybe even Cutthroat, to make their way upriver prior to installing barricade.

jamisonace
jamisonace
I checked it out about three weeks ago and there was no structure there. I did see some salmon carcasses in the river though. I bet this lack of water has thrown off their schedule a bit. I bet you're right that they're waiting on the other species to get by first.

P
plumb2fish