Finding elk

F
fishtales
I am having a hell of a tough time finding elk and figuring out where they will be later this year. So far I have been out to scout about 8 times since mid- May. I have seen elk twice this year (once on tc and the other time on the back side of a clear cut). I have seen lots of signs including tracks and rubs from this year and previous. I am not a seasoned hunter. I do try and get out to locat them when I can. I wish these animals were easier to find. That being said, the Pacific NW is a great place to be.

R
rum runner
your not alone.....

SiletzTroutKiller
SiletzTroutKiller
I've been hunting elk for about five years now and I still have a hard time locating a herd. Usually the only time I get on some elk when hunting is when someone else I'm hunting with knows where the herd is haha. It's quite a bit different than deer hunting

R
RunWithSasquatch
Elk can be tricky...

If you're not seeing them, are you seeing sign? Not 2 year old rubs, but are you seeing last nights sign? A lot of it?

If not, find a new place.

F
fishtales
RunWithSasquatch said:
Elk can be tricky...

If you're not seeing them, are you seeing sign? Not 2 year old rubs, but are you seeing last nights sign? A lot of it?

If not, find a new place.

I found some fresh rubs since last week and some fresh tracks but that is it.

C
capblack
i have spent some time each of the last 4 weekends in the woods, and i found fresh elk sign for the first time last sunday morning. elk bow is over after this weekend, so hopefully they will be close to the same place this weekend. is anybody else hunting with stick and string this year?

R
RunWithSasquatch
fishtales said:
I found some fresh rubs since last week and some fresh tracks but that is it.

Is there a lot of clear-cut units in that area?

Are you in a heavy pressured area with a lot of hunters? Preferably gated hunts are the best.