Complete newbie but with adventuresome spirit!! (help)

C
carriek
OK I have poked around the site a bit and haven't found an answer to my question...

I'm taking my two little boys (7 and 11 yrs) camping this weekend, down on Clackamas River, and reading the park description (which included some gushing accounts of the plentiful fish in the river) I thought "well heck I love to eat fresh fish, we should catch some." Um, except I never've gone fishing in my life.

The boys have fishing rods, but we'll need bait and tackle, I suppose. And a license? Sounds like there are plenty of trout, that's fine with me. We'll be about 15 miles SE of Estacada at a little campground there.

Of course we'd also like to cook and eat whatever we catch, I think I can clean the fish OK, doesn't seem too hard--right?

Thanks in advance for whatever help you can provide. I am hoping my boys will think I'm The Most Awesome Mom Ever.

T
Toyracer38
Youth Under 14 Angling License is free. If your planning on fishing for Salmon or Steelhead they will also need Harvest Tags. If they will be fishing for Trout, no tags are needed. If you plan on fishing yourself, you will also have to get an Angling License. This site has the regulations and license fees. http://www.dfw.state.or.us/resources/licenses_regs/ A trip to a local sporting goods store would probably be the most help for you. They can tell you what you need and probably show you how to setup for whatever you plan on fishing for. Hope you and the kids have a great time. Good luck!

C
ChezJfrey
A couple of my thoughts...

You will need to figure out how to tell the difference between a wild rainbow trout (non-clipped) and other trout as wild rainbows can't be kept.

I also believe that up that high on the Clackamas, bait (including nightcrawlers, powerbait, rubber-type worms, etc.) is not allowed, so spinners, spoons, flies, jigs, crankbait/plugs will need to be used.

As for fish cleaning, a search on youtube will get you started.