A few questions about searun cutts

C
CurtisP87
Im fairly new to fishing in Oregon, and have never targeted Sea Run Cutthroats before, so Im hoping to get a little tactical advice about 'em...

Are they moving up the river much this time of year, or still holding down in tide waters? I dont have a boat, so Im hoping to target them more in the middle reaches of the system, where bank access is more plentiful.

Ive never fly fished, so Ill be using a 7ft spinning setup. All the info I can find about fishing for these fish talks about fly methods, nothing about spinners, spoons, jigs, bait...Anyone have any advice about how to go for the cutties with these methods?

Thanks in advance for any help, and good fishing!

C_Run
C_Run
I'm not sure about the life cycle but I did read a good article on it a long time ago (found it quickly with a Google search) that told about the timing of their upstream migration. I have generally fished for them in the lower reaches of rivers and tidewater from about June through the end of the season. I've never been to the Wilson. Any small spinners and spoons will work. I use small blue foxes, mepps, cleos etc. They all work fine. Good luck.

troutdude
troutdude
Hot pink Rooster Tails are a good choice too.

You can also use a bobber and fly set up, with a fly called the Borden Special. That fly was specifically designed for SRC's. If you can't find any in your area; look for Two Rivers Fly Shop in Albany. Mitch makes them, and sells DOZENS every year at this time.

BTW, most SRC's are now staging at the heads of the Tidewater areas. When rain starts up, they start moving upstream.

Welcome to OFF!

C
CurtisP87