Who stole the rain?

K
kmarsh49
This is my first post. I'm new to the Oregon coast. Moved to the left coast from New York in Sept and had to learn all over again how to fish. Love it. My 2 kids and I went out the Sat before Christmas with a local guy from Knappa and got 4 steelhead average 14lb, 2wild,2 hat. Darn beautiful fish you have out here. Think I got the technique down but have not got a hit since. The water levels have dropped crazy. I gather we need a couple days of good rain to fill the streams, dirty them up, and the fish will start pushing up. True? Also, half our fishing that day was with home cured eggs. When I went out I bought Skein Eggs in a tub at Buds in Gearheart. Are they any good? Should I sent them up?

C
chrisohm
The Eastern US stole all of our moisture. Hopefully we can get some soon....real soon. Its not unheard of to have drought conditions this time of year but it is unusual. We need the rain for reasons beyond fishing. On the other hand, welcome to Oregon! Glad you got into some fish and to answer your egg question.....guides usually have fresh eggs. The fresher the better. Even uncured eggs fresh from a hen will catch fish. As far as cures go, there are many you can find searching the forum, checking the internet or browsing youtube. I wouldn't say one cure works better than another, the real key is that the eggs are fresh and not something hidden in a freezer for a year.

H
halibuthitman
I think i saw you at big creek, you were heading down to the park from the hatchery?

D
DrTheopolis
Here's one thing I can say with certainty -- ask 100 different egg-fishermen about cures, and you'll get 100 different answers.

hobster
hobster
WE NEED RAIN!! 2013 was the driest year on record. We hardly had any last winter,boy were the local rivers low. Was hoping for a great rainy season this winter but the week forecast is pretty dry. Hope its comin soon!

D
DrTheopolis