Land-based farmed salmon: good for wild salmon

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
the new "Land-based farmed salmon" are a real breakthrough, great to see this emerging approach getting recognized. It eliminates any threat to wild fish and appears to be an extremely environmentally sound way to produce a high demand food product (Atlantic Salmon), continuing to reduce commercial ocean harvest demands on our wild fish stocks.

http://www.seafoodwatch.org/seafood...stems-worldwide-salmo-salar?q=atlantic salmon

FYI- the albacore tuna that is troll caught off Oregon is also rated a "Best Choice" by Seafood Watch.

cheers, roger

jamisonace
jamisonace
I'm glad they differentiate in the stores between land based farmed and marine farmed. The threat posed to wild fish by disease spread from bay farming is far greater than wild fish harvest in my opinion (which means next to nothing since I'm not an expert).

I stopped eating farmed salmon a few years ago after watching the documentary entitled a Salmon Confidential.

This documentary has been posted on here at least twice before but here it is again.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MTbxOFcvC4U

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
jamisonace said:
I'm glad they differentiate in the stores between land based farmed and marine farmed. The threat posed to wild fish by disease spread from bay farming is far greater than wild fish harvest in my opinion (which means next to nothing since I'm not an expert).

I stopped eating farmed salmon a few years ago after watching the documentary entitled a Salmon Confidential.

This documentary has been posted on here at least twice before but here it is again.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=MTbxOFcvC4U

yes, almost sure that I posted a Salmon Confidential link here at OFF...

I don't think the MBA SeafoodWatch has ever recommended any of the farm raised salmon from waterways... this recommendation for the land raised salmon is a big deal.

Last edited:
B
BaldTexan