Sturgeon fishing locations?

F
FishOn420
I have never tried targeting sturgeon before so I have no idea where to fish for them or what kind of set up to use for bait. My buddy caught one this Sunday 10/26 and was just big enough to keep. After eating some of the best cooked fish ever; I decided I would love to catch more of these fish to eat. My buddy caught his in the Multnomah Channel with night crawlers but I am not sure how good of a area that is for Sturgeon. Any and all information would be awesome.

F
fish4life
I don't think retention is allowed may want to check the regulations.

B
Big3d
I think your friend illegally harvested that sturgeon, unless they reopened the season and I missed it. That being said, I use squid mostly. Lots of folks use anchovies sardies and herring, among other things. There are lots of deep holes near downtown and all the way up the willamette. I like the west linn dock myself. Good luck, make sure you double check regulations and know that if you get caught keeping one while the season is closed you'll get a huge fine.

F
FishOn420
Big3d said:
I think your friend illegally harvested that sturgeon, unless they reopened the season and I missed it. That being said, I use squid mostly. Lots of folks use anchovies sardies and herring, among other things. There are lots of deep holes near downtown and all the way up the willamette. I like the west linn dock myself. Good luck, make sure you double check regulations and know that if you get caught keeping one while the season is closed you'll get a huge fine.

OMG I had no idea we weren't supposed to keep him. I will definitely double check the regulations before going out to fish them. Thank you for the advice.

bass
bass
When I first read your post I was kind of upset. Glad to hear that you understand the issue. The only place for sturgeon retention is the upper Willamette (above the falls).

SiletzTroutKiller
SiletzTroutKiller