Siuslaw fishing

E
Eoughphily
Hey guys, I'm new to fishing (just started last month), caught my first salmon (coho) shortly after, and now the fishing bug has caught me. I live near Oakridge, but I make regular trips multiple times a week out to the siuslaw. I don't have a boat so I am limited to bank fishing. Where I first started fishing at the dump or north jetti seem to have called down so I have been heading upstream near brickerville. I still have a lot to learn on this style of river fishing, usually a slip bobber with some roe. I will be heading out that way tomorrow if anybody wants to join me. I'm all open to tips and new methods to get a fish on my line as I have not had any luck yet in this area.

B
bagold53
Eoughphily - personally never fished the river but I know a lot of people on the forum do. Unfortunatly the forum is having intermittant issues for people trying login or view different threads. As soon as people are able to get on I am sure you will get lots of advice. I would hit you up tomorrow but I am heading over to the WIlson and Trask tomorrow also bank fishing.

E
Eoughphily
Thank you for the reply bagold, I was experiencing some of those issues last night. I'm on vacation till Monday, so my goal is to be fishing every day till then starting tomorrow.

E
Eoughphily
Heading out to the coast this morning. Anybody care to join me?

E
Eoughphily
No luck today at tide, just a 10" chum

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
Eoughphily said:
No luck today at tide, just a 10" chum

Chum what?

E
Eoughphily
IMG_20141030_191533.jpg

Not sure, the guy fishing next to me said it was a chum. Second one I have caught there.

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
looks like a chinook smolt to me. no chum anywhere near the Siuslaw as far as I know...roger

E
Eoughphily
rogerdodger said:
looks like a chinook smolt to me. no chum anywhere near the Siuslaw as far as I know...roger