Salmon trolling help? And Nehalem Bay fishing?

S
sapo
What are your guys favorite trolling rigs for chinook and coho salmon in bays? What lures usually work best? Also: I've heard that Nehalem bay is doing really well for coho and chinook right now, I am wondering when is the peak time for salmon at Nehalem Bay? I was maybe going to hit it in a couple of weeks, but I'm not sure when the peak season is. If the fishing at Nehalem is good now, how long will it stay good. Salmon trolling novice here, any help is appreciated.

B
Big3d
I'm hearing great things from the bay. I will be above tidewater in about 5 days, i don't have a boat so i can't tell you anything about trolling. I use big spinners from the bank so i'd guess aomething along those lines trolling of maybe sardine/kwikfish

rogerdodger
rogerdodger
I can't help with Nehalem Bay, but all the tidewater fall chinooks that we have caught have been trolling herring, we have caught them using a variety of the standard techniques (plug cut, whole herring, whole 'green' sized herring using the smaller FBR rotating head), we have observed that the hot herring method changes with weather (sunny vs. cloudy/raining) and water temperature (>60F vs. under 60F), just as using a flasher or not also changes. best bet is get some local info on what is working and experiment from there... the coho we catch mostly on spinners (trolling and casting them) but a few each year on herring we are trolling for kings...good luck...roger

D
DrTheopolis
Big3d said:
I use big spinners from the bank

Until it rises and cools (rains), I'd tone down your spinner size a bit above tidewater. And I'm still not sharing my "secret" hole.

Sappy, the peak is about now, but Nehalem hold up well for weeks. Should be hot until the rains come. Unlike its neighbor to the south, Nehalem fish tend to run up quickly after the rains, Tillamook is a slower progression.