Fall fishing

F
FlyinHayn92
Hey all. With weather changing and temp dropping, any pointers on bass fishing as well as maybe changing up and switching to trout fishing? Im only bank fishing and have only fished St. Louis Ponds and Wirth Lake. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Im new to freshwater fishing but my kids love it, so I want to keep it going all year. Mahalo Nui Loa! (Thank You Very Much)

F
fish face
I personally think that fall fishing is the best time to go. 1) you don't have to compete with jet skiers, wind surfers, ect. 2) Depending where you go the fishing is easier because the fish become more concentrated. 3) the fish get hungry.

knowing that you have kids, I recommend Detroit Lake (50 miles east of Salem). No Bass but lots and lots of planter trout to keep the kids attention. In October the water level is very low, so I would have to hike DOWN, in the mud, where the log boom is located (not far from the dam). Again with kids, I would use power bait and use some sort of sent like Mikes shrimp. Caution--it is vey easy to get snags off the bottom of the lake plus you still have to hike up. But you should catch you limit in no time.

Have fun!!!

Reactions: Troutski
F
FlyinHayn92
fish face said:
I personally think that fall fishing is the best time to go. 1) you don't have to compete with jet skiers, wind surfers, ect. 2) Depending where you go the fishing is easier because the fish become more concentrated. 3) the fish get hungry.

knowing that you have kids, I recommend Detroit Lake (50 miles east of Salem). No Bass but lots and lots of planter trout to keep the kids attention. In October the water level is very low, so I would have to hike DOWN, in the mud, where the log boom is located (not far from the dam). Again with kids, I would use power bait and use some sort of sent like Mikes shrimp. Caution--it is vey easy to get snags off the bottom of the lake plus you still have to hike up. But you should catch you limit in no time.