The sea lion catcher

M
montym
Not exactly true, but when you get ribbed for a day with something then it kind of gets stuck. Story started a few months ago, got a deal in Amazon local and booked a day fishing trip in Astoria for Salmon. So on 8/16 at 6 am I was in the East Basin Marina waiting for my guide. Really excited about going after Salmon and fishing from a boat for the first time, I was up most of the night looking at the watch too excited to sleep. The place was chock-a-block with boats and trailers, lines to enter the Marina started a long way from the entrance both ways, worth a sight in itself.

Guide gets caught in the traffic jam, and we start a little later than planned. Still, lines in water somewhere in the Washington side across the river by about 7:30 am. Start a little slowly compared to expectations, but we get bites and see people catching fish. I am a complete novice at this and my 5 partners in crime, while a lot more experienced than me; lost a little too many fish to be called very good at it with all due respect. First few bites we get, we cannot hook anything. On my first bite I fumble with the rod, completely clueless and cannot hook the fish. We move near the bridge.

Good place, my friends catch a wild Coho and a 23 inch Chinook; both are released as required. I claim that the next one would be on my rod. Get my second bite almost on cue, I manage to hook it, reel it in a little distance and lose it not too far from the boat. Total score on the boat is still zero but salmon fishing is fun. I am not the fittest chap around, the only workout I get is from lugging the laptop around and I was worried about what I will do when I hook a large fish. I am not worried any more, it's easy.