Spinning rods?

W
WillametteT
What brands are good for a decent quality spinning rod for a 2-6 line weight in the $30.00 - $70.00 range? Will be mostly used for bass fishing. Thanks in advance.:)

G
grampa ron
Walmart has Shakespear Micro Graphics $17 best deal ever

C
CrappieCrazy
I have a Lamiglas X11 (LX602LS 6') I picked up from Sportsman's for $74.99 It has a Shimano Sedona 2500FD reel with 6# line.
It has a moderate/fast action and makes pulling in a 2 lb fish feel like your off to the races..!

B
BamaDan
Just my two cents, but I'd shoot for what's on sale over brand. Saving the most serious bass anglers among us, there isn't a lot of need for long casts or super sensitivity. I just like a rod with some backbone and balance. I'm not very brand loyal, although I've liked Berkley rods I've owned.

I'm new to smallies, but I'll tell you from my lifetime of largemouth, striped, and spotted bass fishing, I would stick closer to that 6lb range or larger. Bass love laying up in structure and it'll save your wallet just being able to retrieve more baits off snags. And trust me, it's better to be blissfully ignorant of that fish that never took your bait than to sit up at night wondering how big was that fish that broke you off. Plus, I've not known bass to be so picky as to be spooked by 8lb test, but then again I'm used to fishing heavy structure and colored water.

W
WillametteT
Thanks, I've got a new Shimano reel coming and will most likely set it up with the 6lb test line. I'm not looking for top quality, just decent for my budget. I've not liked any of the Shakespear rods I've used in the past so, wanted something with a reputable name, that will stand up to what I'm doing. I am also new to smallies and have been looking on the big auction site for another Fenwick but, thought I'd see what others might recommend.

W
WillametteT
BamaDan said:
I'm not very brand loyal, although I've liked Berkley rods I've owned.