Sandy river summer steelhead

W
WATERKL39
I am seeking the sandy river for summer steelhead. What months would be best and when would the summer run end on the sandy? Thanx!

S
Steel4life
by the end of this month through june is when i do the best but i also have caught fish till the end of july

W
WATERKL39
Thank you so much! I haven't fished for steelhead for 20 years, mainly North Fork Lewis River. Now that I live in E. Portland I am ready once again to enjoy my days on the river.

M
mikeee2362
Welcome to the forum! I hadn't fished for steelhead in almost that long, but now that I'm a Portland resident, I'm fishing them every chance I get, and the Sandy is what I call my home river since it's so close. I've been fishing winter steelhead since I got my Oregon fishing license in January and have been doing well. Steel4life noted that at the end of the month the summer run starts but the winter run is still producing fish, I hooked 3 and landed 2 today, all natives. Why wait till summer get out there and give her a try!! Ever want a partner to go on the Sandy PM me I'm always game to go.

W
WATERKL39
That sounds like a plan. Where on the sandy do you fish?

W
WATERKL39
That sounds like a plan. Now are you allowed to keep steelhead with adipose-fin, or does it need to be one that is clipped with a combined angling tag?

S
Steel4life
yes it has to be a fin clipped steelhead. and you must have the combined angling tag and also the Columbia river endorsement to fish for steelhead on the sandy river.
mike how far up were you? ive been fishing dabney with little success. but I haven't been able to get out much latey due to work. lemme know the next time you jam out, im always looking for fishing buddies. congrats on your fish btw

M
mikeee2362