Bass fishing near Corvallis?

O
oregonbassmaster
Hello everyone. I'm new here and looking forward to being a part of the forum. I'm new to the Corvallis area, recently moved here from the Rogue Valley and I'm looking for some spots to catch some bass. There doesn't seem to be the amount of lakes up here as I'm used to. Hopefully someone can offer some suggestions. I'm looking for as close to Corvallis as possible since I'm a broke college student and gas is expensive, but if you know anywhere else in the general area let me know. Also does anyone have any info about bass on the Willamette? Ive heard theres some small mouths but havent fished it yet.

Raincatcher
Raincatcher
Welcome to the best fishing forum west of Boston! We have numerous bass fans on here who will be able to give you good advice, unfortunately, I am not one of them. Until they chime in, I suggest you look into the bass forum archives for a lot of answers to your questions. Good fishing to you and again, welcome aboard!

troutdude
troutdude
Welcome to OFF; and to Corvegas. GO BEAVS!

The closest spot, is probably the Kiger Island slough (part of the Willy). SE Kiger Island Drive, is out 3rd St. / Hwy. 99W on the end of town...just past SE Rivergreen. Just park your car/bike, at the 1st bridge that you come to going east. A tube or toon, will help you get back into the slough and the best fishing.

There's also lots of smallies, and some bucketmouths, farther south along the Long Tom River. And even farther, is Fern Ridge Reservoir. Miles and miles of bank access. Good crappie holes, and spots for cats too.

SiletzTroutKiller
SiletzTroutKiller
Unfortunately a lot of the good bass fishing around Corvallis is on private land :(

O
oregonbassmaster
troutdude said:
Welcome to OFF; and to Corvegas. GO BEAVS!