Hard beads versus soft beads versus corkies

J
JHawk
I'm new to the steelhead game and I'm trying to learn quickly, but there's a lot of 'stuff' to know.

What are the relative merits of hard beads versus soft beads versus cheaters versus Fish Pills versus corkies?

I've read posts that say to stay in the 8mm to 10mm range for hard beads. I've read other posts that say soft beads are better than hard beads. I've read other posts that swear by corkies, which just seem to be large beads.

I'm totally confused.

Thanks!

T
Throbbit _Shane
Either of them, as long as you have a 6' leader! LOL :lol:

Yarn should be another option. Or eggs with some yarn and scent...

Id say any of it will work as long as it's presented correctly, maybe some more then others depending on the river and the pressure.

O
OnTheDrop
Dude. They are all relatively similar. Put it in front of the fishes face and they won't care what material it's made out of because by the time they realize they've committed and you have already set the hook. It's not like bait where they might grab it and engulf it if they like it or grab it and move on if they don't like it.

For drift fishing I would choose a corkie because it is buoyant and will come off the bottom when drifted. ( Steelhead look up, not down )

For float fishing I would use a bead between 6-14mm bead with a split shot or two on the leader. ( My favorite )

Boom. Your golden.. Now get out on the water and test it out...

Last edited:
S
SOMCREW
SteelmonKiller20 said:
For drift fishing I would choose a corkie because it is buoyant and will come off the bottom when drifted. ( Steelhead look up, not down )

For float fishing I would use a bead between 6-14mm bead with a split shot or two on the leader. ( My favorite )

Boom. Your golden.. Now get out on the water and test it out...