What line to use????

G
Game_fish
I am new to sturgeon fishing and I will be bank fishing. I have a penn 320 reel with 80lb tuff line braided Dacron. The line keeps breaking on me after a few casts is this normal? The line is probably 12-15 yrs old. It seems strong but when I went to set the hook on a potential bite it just went snap!!! I keep losing my weights. And weights aren't cheap!

Why does the line keep failing me?!

S
steelie_killa
I use a diawa saltist with 20 lb main line...never had a problem...ive landed many oversize in the 7-8 ft range...the trick is to use ur drag when fighting them...

R
rippin fish lips
It's time for new line.

I
igquick
Like he said, I think new line would be appropriate.

T
Tinker
Even dacron gets old, and your 12-15 year old line is ancient.

G
Game_fish
Ok so I need new line, but what should I go with. As I said I'm bank fishing and in some heavy current to using up to 18 oz of weight.
Should I go with a braid or mono?

T
Tinker
Game_fish said:
Ok so I need new line, but what should I go with. As I said I'm bank fishing and in some heavy current to using up to 18 oz of weight.
Should I go with a braid or mono?

I'd use a braided line for how you're fishing. Since it'll be much smaller diameter than braided dacron, you can go up in weight, from 80 to 100-plus. I think it's safe to consider the new braids as at least as strong as the braided dacron you're using, but they're more expensive than braided dacron and mono. The new braids will easily last more than a single season - but probably not 10 years!

If you don't want to change from Dacron, Bi-Mart carries Tuf-Line braided dacron, but I don't remember all the weights... I bought 30# to tie bobber stops. Tuf-Line makes the newer braided Spectra lines, too.